Chana Masala Hummus? Where have you been all my life?

Chickpeas to some, Garbanzo Beans to others.  Cicer arietinum to all the dead language fans in the house.

There’s an Indian place near my house.  They make pretty good chana masala. There’s only one problem, you have to decant the top layer of vegetable oil into the fast running current of your awaiting stainless steel sink.  Which is promptly stains it fluorescent yellow. As in bleach does not phase this color (pro cleaning tip? a paste of baking soda and water will clean just about anything… I think they clean up spilled nuclear waste with a blend of chelating agents and some Arm&Hammer.

(Brief Wikipedia/Google/academic paper interlude on coordination chemistry, radiation, and subsequent technologies/microbiologies)

Hummus – chickpeas, tahini, lemon juice, oil.  So many places serve bad hummus.  I do not want it to double as a floor cleaner, and I don’t want it to double as engine lubricant.  I don’t want it pureed into baby food, but I don’t want to be forced to chew.  So simple, yet so much potential for disaster.

Putting the two together gives you all of the deliciousness, with none of the bullshit. No worrying about the ghee/vegetable trans fat nonsense, no Kevin Costner grade oil skimmers, a solid spice profile preempts inevitable Pine-Sol comparisons. Shit – I think I’m gonna get myself some right now.

Posted in Food

Leave a Reply

Obvious Grog
Archives
