Performance and What Happens Anyway

I’ve been listening to the adventures of Acquisitions Incorporated – the guys from Penny Arcade, PvP and Wil Wheaton play 4th edition D&D. And it’s been remarkably entertaining. So I thought to myself, listening to people playing RPGs is amusing, where can I get more? It turns out there are a lot of people out there who are podcasting their gaming sessions. And so far they’ve all been terrible. To the point of being painful.

These guys have been doing this for 12 years. Regardless of what has been going on in their lives, for, minus guest artists etc, 1872 comics they have been doing what they do.

In my mind that makes me wonder if there’s anything that I feel so passionate about that I could maintain such a pace. At such a high level of skill, for so long.

I guess that’s something that differentiates between art and science – though they’re not mutually exclusive. The plodding dogged advance of progress. Creation, either from Tolstoy-esque brain seizing or just whatever someone needs to do to make sense of reality.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Obvious Grog
Archives
