Threads

After many false starts trying to decouple the time step from the frame rate in Processing it looks like I’ve come across a mechanism that might give me the chance to progress, threads.  Having never taken any classes in Java, apparently it’s a lot more straightforward than mutex/semaphore stuff I dabbled with in C. It’s looking relatively easy to abstract out from Processing and roll in a little Java code (as discovered based on recent MouseWheel interface experiments).  This would allow a global time step, separation of the animation and calculation steps and an overall improvement to the workflow.  I’m sure this is going to open up a whole new sort of problems/ideas/learning, but hey, that’s what we’re trying to do here. I continue to have trouble with Eclipse, I haven’t had a great deal of success.  There’s a lot of setting up, and compiler options and all that stuff that I’m not really ready for at this point in time.  However, a recent article on AltDevBlog knocked some rust off some previously unconsidered options.  Command-line/makefile managed C++. I think just keeping things simple for now would allow the best progress. Lots of reading and thinking at this phase, developing art assets in blender, procedurally generating content, tiling, OpenMP.

I’ve also got a few thoughts about some games that I have been playing, notably Batman: Arkham Asylum, Team Fortress 2, League of Legends, and Terraria.  I’m pretty tired and my to do list is growing longer and longer. The day’s off to a slow start as I’m waiting for the repairman, so maybe I’ll have some time to catch up.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Obvious Grog
Archives
