A Confession:

A personal inventory resulted in the following conclusions:

1) I don’t like fun.
2) I don’t understand dressing up
3) I don’t like candy

Put these three things together and there’s only one conclusion to be reached.  I don’t like Halloween.  To be honest, I don’t even think it’s in my top 10. Think of 10 holidays…  we’re getting into the territory of furniture sales and Canadian Thanksgiving.

Without going off the deep end into the role of various blends of horror in society, I’m just going to skim across the surface. From a mental perspective I’m more of the “go into dark places and poke and prod” than the effigy/simulacra/catharsis blend of horror. And for whatever reason, this makes me a little less inclined for the fun variety of horror.

Oh well.

Posted in Uncategorized
7 comments on “A Confession:
  1. angryscholar says:

    I am unutterably saddened by this. This is my favorite holiday of dem all.

    I’m even teaching a guest lecture on Halloween to a class of 240 bored freshman all about the folklore of the holiday.

    You are the Grinch. The Halloween Grinch.

    That should be your costume.

  2. vigorousbog says:

    Technically, Halloween *is* Grinch Night. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Halloween_Is_Grinch_Night)

    I’m not trying to steal anybody’s Who Hash or anything – It’s just one of the many things that looks like a whole bunch of fun for everybody else, but I just don’t get.

  3. vigorousbog says:

    And don’t get me started on Ocktoberfest… which ended 2 weeks ago. Bah Humbug.

  4. angryscholar says:

    Ocktoberfest is an excuse to make lager better and drink a ton of it while enjoying the fall weather. What’s not to love?

    I’m not big on the “dressing up” aspect of Halloween either. But the whole ordeal is a conglomeration of pre-Christian Celtic and Classical traditions, distilled down the years into the corporate candy-fueled mummer’s parade that we know today.

    Oof, don’t get me started. I’ll send you a copy of the Powerpoint from my lecture if you’re not already convinced that I’m a pedantic jerk.

  5. vigorousbog says:

    I don’t understand the need to acquire society’s permission to go leaf peeping in my dinosaur-wearing-lederhosen costume and wash down good & plenty with high quality beer.

    (And thus Ocktoberween was born!)

    Like so many things, it’s not that I don’t want to understand. So fire away on the Powerpoint lecture. My heart might not grow the mandatory 3 sizes, but that never sounded healthy outside of cartoons.

    • angryscholar says:

      So… you’d rather wear your costume and go leaf-peeping WITHOUT society’s permission? Because I can think of at least two ways in which that would make for the best Arbor Day/Youtube video ever.

      I’m not much for costuming. But the other things associated with the holiday? Definitely.

  6. vigorousbog says:

    Open container laws aside, one does not go drunken dino-lederpeeping for Youtube views. One does it to celebrate their rich native heritage and the autumnal march of the seasons.

Leave a Reply

Obvious Grog
Archives
